1/26/11 – A New Best Friend (maybe)

Today we started to learn how we can use string as a way to measure and get accurate angles.

New BFF - The String!



It was a hard concept for me to actually use during my drawing because I kept having to stop and see if I was precise with my lines/angles. I just wanted to draw (considering it was our first assignment and first real day of Art class), so that’s what I did.

The chair and angle I'm suppose to draw

First attempt of chair

I started out with drawing the chair and then I began to realize that my chair was really inaccurate. I was drawing what I thought was true, but really wasnt when I lined up the string. It was also hard for me to draw something 3D so I drew little square boxes in 3D because it was the only thing I knew how to draw in 3D. Using the same concept I started drawing the chair. I also noticed that the center of the chair was the hardest part that I had to get right for everything else to match up to it’s scale.

 

I started to erase everything, but then realized I draw with very hard strokes which made it difficult to erase everything. At the end of the day my paper was blank.

 

End of Day 1 Progress

This entry was posted in My Blog Entries. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment